Review: Whims of Fate by Nissa Leder

9:45 PM

Whims of Fate by Nissa Leder | Rating: ★★★★★

As a note, an e-galley of this novel was sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not effect my opinions in any way.

It's no secret that Nissa Leder's Whims of Fae series has fast become one of my favourite series. I was positively smitten upon the first novels initial release. With two stellar releases under her belt, Leder has shown no signs of slowing down when it comes to her delectable story of one girls change from ordinary to extraordinary. Whims of Fate proves to be just as beautifully written (and suspenseful) as the previous two installments to the series--and, as per tradition, leaves readers breathless and longing for the fourth book.

NISSA! Girl, what are you doing to me? Did Whims of Fate just solidify my position as your #1 b*tch? (As if this was in question to begin with.) Absolutely. As with the previous two chapters in leading lady Scarlett's life, it was jam packed with heart, charm, scorching romantic entanglements, fast paced plotlines and more. Whims of Fate proves that sequels can be beyond even our greatest hopes. Leder shows no signs of slowing down when it comes to her spin on Fae and coming-of-age stories.

Whims of Fate picks up quite quickly on where its predecessor left off and gives us plenty to think about.




Will Ashleigh ever forgive Scarlett? Or return back to the mortal realm and her beloved boyfriend? What will Aria do now that she has been freed? What exactly is going on with Kaelam (swoon) and Scarlett (double swoon)? Will Raith and Scarlett reunite, for real this time? What truths are waiting for Raith when it comes to his mother? What will he and Sage discover? What do Poppy and Cade have up their sleeves?

And most importantly: who will receive the upper hand when it comes to the ultimate power struggle at the center of the entire series? Leder crafts a startling tale of twists, hope and magic, captivating readers until the final chapter. We get equal footing when it comes to both questions and answers. I'm so beyond obsessed.

I stand by what I said in previous reviews: Whims of Fae is the ultimate series for fans of Cassandra Clare and Sarah J. Maas. Nissa Leder's exploration of classic mythology themes is all her own, but there is certainly an element to her prose that will standout to fans of the authors listed above. Armed with a set of complex characters, witty dialogue, smart plot twists and steaming romance; Leder will have you cast under her spell before long.

So what can you officially expect from Whims of Fate?

  • Answers about Raith's parentage. We learn of his mother's fate and whether or not the previous revelations were correct. There were a lot of bombshells in Whims of Fate but one, in particular, will stand out to readers. Trust me. 
  • Things heat up between Kaelam and Scarlett in a way that is surprisingly satisfying. At this point, Scarlett has chemistry with everyone--and so does Kaelam, for that matter. The real question is: Kaelam or Raith? (Or, is this badass character better off own her own?) 
  • When it comes to romantic elements, we see quite a bit more of that spark between Poppy and Cade. While Cade is--perhaps--my least favourite character in their narration, he has a bit more time to shine in this one. We see a much more vulnerable side to him as he is taken down a new path. 
  • An unlikely group forms an alliance, tying all of the prominent good-to-morally-gray characters together. 
  • SO. MUCH. CHARACTER. GROWTH. From literally everyone
  • More revelations and plot twists.
  • OH MY GOD. That ending, though. The last four chapters! Don't! Look! Away!
In short?

Whims of Fate was one of my favourite reads of the year so far. Best enjoyed with coffee, your lights dimmed just enough, and a good record blasting--for me, Rainbow Kitten Surprise's discography was blaring the entire time on shuffle. Basically: get comfortable, set the mood, because you are not going to move until you finish the novel.

It is proof that Leder is not only someone you should look out for, but the sort of writer that just keeps getting better with every release. I loved Whims of Fate and I'm sure lovers of fantasy will, too.

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Translate