Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Book Blitz + Giveaway: Selective Memory by D.D. Lorenzo




ALERT, ALERT, ALERT! Today's the day! It's time for the Selective Memory Blitz! Not only do I have a bit of a celebration going on behalf of it, you can view the two book trailers here and here!

Onto the main event--Selective Memory. The second, and now newly revised, installment of The Depth of Emotion has finally landed (it was originally published all the way back in 2014) and I'm so excited to share the news with you. 

If you're like me, you love (love, love, love!) a good suspense. Double the points and love if it also combines romance or other genres with it. In the case of D.D. Lorenzo's Positive Negativity and Selective Memory, you're in for a wild ride of suspense and romance. 

To learn more about Selective Memory, the first book in the series and D.D. Lorenzo, follow the cut. And don't forget to enter the killer giveaway that is provided in celebration of this revised release! 

Good luck!

Book Blitz + Giveaway: Christmas At the Lake by Charlotte Blake


Who says that September is too early to be daydreaming about the holidays? I almost always have Christmas on my mind. September 12th, 2017, saw the release of Christmas at the Lake, the second installment in Charlotte Blake's Great Escapes series, and I couldn't be more excited to celebrate the release of your new contemporary romance obsession. 

Although Great Escapes is considered a series, Christmas at the Lake takes the stage as a standalone for readers to dive into. You need not read the first book and can, really, take the entire series in whatever pace/order you want to. To learn more about this steamy, holiday romance--follow the cut! 

And don't forget to enter the giveaway!

Monday, September 18, 2017

Review: Smoke & Mirrors by Michael Faudet

Smoke & Mirrors by Michael Faudet | Rating: ★★★★☆

As a note, an e-galley of this novel was sent to me via NetGalley by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not effect my opinions in any way. (4.5 stars out of 5)

Oh, I've been so overwhelmed with wonderful poetry lately. All this prose, all this intimacy, makes me feel full of some sort of emotion I can't quite express. Michael Faudet is, as per usual, exquisite in the way his prose comes to life. There's something fulfilling about even his shortest of expressions and I cannot get enough of it. I mean that--it's not as though his work is flaw free (no one's is) but at the end of the day it accomplishes everything it was meat to do.

I loved the way that intimacy--far, wide, casual--was explored. There were many standouts that I can't wait to highlight in a physical copy upon its release because, much like with Rupi Kaur, Sabrina Benaim, Amanda Lovelace, Lang Leav and Alicia Cook it's impossible to not feel something at every turn of pen. Isn't that what we all love about poetry to begin with? To fell--compelled, related, understood. To learn.


Review: The Two Princes of Summer by Nissa Leder

The Two Princes of Summer by Nissa Leder | Rating: ★★★★☆

Scarlett had always wished for more from life. More excitement. More surprises. More something. She craved new adventure. So much so, she never appreciated what she had. Now her mom was gone, and, despite her mom's fits and outbursts, all Scarlett wanted was to have her back.


OH MY GOD! I am completely enamored by the beginning of what is sure to be an epic series. The Two Princes of Summer is an absolutely perfect read for fans of Cassandra Clare, A.G. Howard and Sarah J. Maas. In many ways, this introduction to The Whims of Fae exceed even my strongest expectations and I am honestly so, so, so captivated.

The thing about this novel is that it's a very quick read and kept me pinned to my seat for a good few hours. And while there are flaws in it, it still remains as compelling as a good fantasy novel should. Not to mention, it tackles some darkness of an ordinary life beyond the veil of Fae. I loved the world-building we grew to witness and the entire concept of this realm of Fae. It felt very, very reminiscent to other explorations in the genre however the characters and writing definitely made it a world of its own.

Book Blitz+ Giveaway (Quite Possibly the Giveaway to End All Giveaways): Wrong by Jana Aston

 
It's not secret I've got a bit of a literary crush on Jana Aston's work and Wrong is chalking up the wins for our girl. Between this bad boy, and the fantasy it will surely spawn, Times Square and the hotly anticipated Sure Thing, we've been downright spoiled by Aston in the last few years. Wrong is a total "read while alone, unless you want to look flushed" book and there's no working around that. 

So pack up yourself for a night. Grab your favourite drink (personally, Merlot or coffee are the way I approached) and have a towel on standby for the moment you inevitably need a cold shower. You're in for a ride.

Wrong climbed its way onto our TBR shelves back in 2015 and if you haven't read it, now's your chance! September 19th, 2017, marks the day when it's FREE TO DOWNLOAD on most platforms. 

Follow the cut for more information! 

Book Blitz + Giveaway: Premonition by Leigh Walker

 
Nearly two months to the day since Leigh Walker began The Division with Premonition. A fast paced science fiction romance targeted at the vast YA audience, Premonition promises to be a delight from start to finish... in the most suspenseful of ways. Think: action, boarding school, government secrets.

"The Division isn't something you walk away from. You better run." 

Oh, I know I have your attention now. On your mark, get set--go

To celebrate the release Premonition (go, Leigh!) and enter a swoon-worthy giveaway, follow the cut. And o learn more about the novel, the series it will spawn and the author, follow the cut twice! Or, you know, once. You get the idea. 

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas | Rating: ★★★★☆

Aelin had promised herself, months and months ago, that she would not pretend to be anything but what she was. She had crawled through darkness and blood and despair-she had survived.

It's official: Empire of Storms is the best (the bloody best) of the Throne of Glass series thus far. It will have you gasping for air by the final pages and well, I'm more than a little emotionally scarred by this beautiful novel. Finally! Throne of Glass is living up to its potential for me. That's the good news--the bad news is, I'm still not into Rowan but he is mostly growing on me and I'm trying to get used to him but eh, he left a bad taste in my mouth from the start.

Once more, Sarah J. Maas proves that her writing--her characters, the world-building--gets better at every release. It's easy to get lost in her fantasy-world. It's easy to root and hate certain characters. It is easy to love and become invested in this game of war. There's something undeniably intriguing and violent about Empire of Storms that sets it a part from its previous installments. And, I think, this cliffhanger is possibly one of the most thralling--and heartbreaking--releases as of yet.