Adventurous, Snarky and Unapologetically Queer | Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

10:41 PM

I'm so much later to posting this than I intended. BUT, long story short, Tarnished Are the Stars is FABULOUS.

About

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher's chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog -- donning the moniker Technician -- to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner's tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner's son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father's respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father's elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner's secrets at any cost -- even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic -- before the Commissioner ends them first.



Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor
Rating: ★★★★★

As always, a copy of this book was provided by the publisher or author in exchange for my honest review. This does not effect my opinion in any way.

Where do I begin with Tarnished Are the Stars? Hm. Let's start simple: AM I OBSESSED? Ah, yep! Completely. Rosiee Thor, you have my full attention and admiration. Tarnished Are the Stars is one of the best YA science-fiction releases of 2019. End review. Part of me has been wondering how I could possibly review Tarnished Are the Stars in a cohesive way because my thoughts are all over the place in excitement.

(!!!!!!!)

Tarnished Are the Stars is an enthralling and vibrant read that will keep its audience on the edge of their seats. I can't speak for every release in the genre, however, it was unlike anything I've read before--which was deeply engrossing and satisfying. It goes without saying that Tarnished Are the Stars is tied with The Last Hope as my favourite YA sci-fi of the year.

Phew. Just... phew. This book was a wild ride from start to finish. I can still feel my heart beating in all its excitement. I loved the characters and all that follows them. The way the story unfolds and embraces its sexual diversity is of pure brilliance. These are the types of characters I love knowing. The ones that nearly jump off the page and attach themselves to you. The ones you keenly return to and love like they were your dearest friends. This is how YA should always look.

Seriously--I adored these characters, the plotlines, the unique world and the engaging manner in which Rosiee Thor writes. Nothing is ever perfect, but Tarnished Are the Stars certainly comes close to such a title.

All you could want from a stellar YA novel is within the depths of Tarnished Are the Stars. Full of unapologetic snark, stunningly developed characters (with flaws and strengths and SO full of life) this novel is adventurous and beautifully queer. Forget all comparisons to any other YA title out there, Tarnished Are the Stars is uniquely its own and, at the end of the day, in a league of its own.

If you haven't caught on to my point already: Rosiee Thor's crafted something special, breath-taking and it cannot be missed. Tarnished Are the Stars should be at the top of everyone's list.
 Find me on Instagram and/or Twitter.

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Translate