Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Twelve Books You Should Read This Spring: Most Anticipated of Spring 2016

Have you looked outside your window lately? Seen a calendar and thought: 'wow, where has the time gone?' I know I have. Spring has officially sprung and this means plenty of opportunities are arising and summer is nearly here! Beyond the typical sunshine (or rain, more than likely but for arguments sake let's call it sunshine), flowers, pastels and surge of unfortunate allergies; it means that there are going to be a large supply of reads that literature lovers should check out. New releases come and go, with darling cover art and complexities of human life to harsh truths and frivolous needs.

I’ve found that some of the best reads come from spring or autumn, so to help narrow down some options for my readers I’ve complied a list of some of my most anticipated releases of the season and can hardly wait to get my hands on finished copies of these bad boys. It goes without saying that taste is subjective and this short list is only suggestions that have caught my eye in recent weeks, so take this with a grain of salt.

Let's face it: a lot of sunshine and a good novel goes a long way when it comes down to it at the end of the day. Whether your choice read is for in between classes, ever-so-short work breaks or for your own personal pleasure in the sunshine, readers everywhere will be tripping over themselves to pick up copies of these twelve novels. Between work and social interactions and endless binge watching of The X-Files, these books have captured my attention and found their way onto this list for one reason or another.



1. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (March 8th, 2016): Set five years after the conclusion to the beloved series The Mortal Instruments, Clare reunites readers with her vivid Shadowhunters world with a look into the lives of Emma Carstairs, the young girl readers met for the first time in City of Heavenly Fire. As the first book in a new series The Dark Artifices, it has a lot to live up to. With Los Angeles as its primary setting and cameos by our favorites from The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices, it makes the perfect suspenseful read for a sunny or rainy spring night. Driven by strong lead characters, high action stakes and yes a little romance and a whole lot of sarcasm, Cassandra Clare proves once more her fantastic chops when it comes to her novels. 





2. Lost in Love by Susane Colasanti (May 3rd, 2016): Fans of Sarah Dessen, John Green and Maureen Johnson will fall head over heels for Colasanti’s work. If they haven’t already, given the amount of novels she has under her belt, that is. Lost in Love showcases Susane Colasanti and her sweet but honest writing and continues with a second installment to her City Love trilogy. City Love was one of my favorite contemporary releases last spring and Lost in Love is just as fun as the previous novel. It is, hands down, the perfect fluffy tale of romance and friendship–all with a delightful array of characters and Manhattan as its beautiful backdrop. What more could a girl ask for? Stylish, witty and an overall blast, readers will find themselves or their friends in the characters featured in Lost in Love

3. Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate (March 8th, 2016): Riley Redgate’s debut novel blows many of this years young adult releases out of the water. It’s not just another pretty book, but the cover is a real stunner; speaking solely on the plots it is brutally honest and exactly what young adult literature needed at this time. Each character in Seven Ways We Lie–and their actions, of course–represent various sins of the seven deadly variety. But it’s so much more than that, Seven Ways We Lie is a fantastic release with a beautiful prose and an unforgettable cast of characters that is striking because of how true to life it feels.
4. I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan (June 7th, 2016): Readers or pop cultural enthusiasts will recognize McMillan as the author of How Stella Got Her Groove Back and many, many novels that empowered a generation and continue to do so. I Almost Forgot About You is inspiring and the perfect novel to bring with you when going on a trip. Inspiring, thoughtful and all about growth–Terry McMillan does it again and if my praise for it doesn’t spark your curiosity, let this be the one exception when it comes to the pesky little “don’t judge a book by its cover!” rule. How pretty is this gem? 
5. One with You by Sylvia Day (April 5th, 2016): In the conclusion to the wildly popular Crossfire series (also known as, perhaps, the only piece of erotic fiction I have ever enjoyed) readers can expect steamy moments, dramatic interruptions and swoon worthy romance. Day is the queen of this genre and continues to prove this by simultaneously leaving readers needing a cold shower and tears on our cheek. Packed with two complex narrators–Eva and Gideon are both survivors and flawed to the ultimate degree but lovable nonetheless–and a whole lot of fantastic side characters, One with You is sure to break your heart and put it back together all at once. 
6. The Crown by Kiera Cass (May 3rd, 2016): The end is near for fans of the captivating and romantic series The Selection, and I couldn’t be more excited and well upset! We’ve been given a wonderful expansion to the series and I couldn’t be more happy with it. After the twenty-year flash forward and introduction of a new generation, The Crown is sure to be one of the most romantic and potentially soul crushing installments yet. After the massive, startling cliffhanger and romance in The Heir, readers will be tripping over themselves to see what happens next–and Kiera Cass totally owns us based on that cover, right? Right? Right?

7. Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld (April 19th, 2016): Although a retelling can be a mess in the general sense of the word, sometimes modernization or a change of settings can be just the kick an old favorite needs. Jane Austen continues to be a classic amongst literature lovers and this unique and vivid retelling by the incomparable Curtis Sittenfeld will surely grip your attention. Perhaps Pride and Prejudice die-hard fans will either love or hate this latest take on it, but it’s definitely a solid work of fiction to add to your collection. Eligible is a delight from start to finish.

8. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski (March 29th, 2016): War has been brewing in the incredible fantasy world featured within The Winner’s Trilogy and after a whirlwind of danger and drama and romance in the previous installment, fans have been waiting patiently for the conclusion to their beloved series. Readers can expect heartbreak, thrills and complicated love in this last installment. Saying goodbye has never been so stressful! Prepare to grit your teeth, cross your fingers and find yourself lying in a heap of emotions--The Winner's Kiss will surely be your favorite yet. Or least. Or maybe both. Oh, the places we could go! 
9. The Steep and Thorny Way by Cat Winters (March 8th, 2016): Cat Winters is known for her incredibly vivid works of fiction and The Steep and Thorny Way is amongst her best yet. Electric, thoroughly honest and painful and mysterious, this retelling of the classic Shakespeare work Hamlet is the ultimate must have for lovers of historical fiction. With its diverse cast and complicated plots of racial tension, violence and historical references it is one of the best novels of the year and one you won’t soon forget.  
10. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (April 26th, 2016): Yet another series coming to an end–The Raven Cycle is an unforgettable tale of magic and love and friendship and, of course, loss. If you haven’t gotten your hands on this series yet, now is the time! Stiefvater has created an incredible world for readers to devour and will captivate you from the start. Fans of Harry Potter will surely flock to this deliciously dark series–Stiefvater’s prose is pure magic and feels like an old friend as you’re flipping through the pages. The Raven King is one of the ultimate must-read's for the Spring, for the whole year really, and cannot be missed. 
11. Unforgivable by Amy Reed (May 3rd, 2016): In this sequel to the beautiful and heartbreaking Invincible, we meet up with Marcus and Evie once more as their relationship faces its biggest complications yet. Reed is a pro at creating complex characters who touch our hearts and this time around, we see the outfall of Evie’s survival and will hopefully get some closure when it comes to our young cancer survivors troubles. Marcus takes the lead in this installment and I can say I’m more than ready to learn more about him. Fans of John Green, Lurlene McDaniel and Gayle Foreman will find themselves attached to these characters and the awful reality of what it’s like to be face-to-face with illness and loss. Unforgivable promises to be touching and brilliant. 
12. The Haters by Jesse Andrews (April 5th, 2016): Jesse Andrews is back off the heels of his beloved coming of age novel Me, Earl and the Dying Girl (as well as the film adaptation of the same name) with The Haters. With a wicked cool cover on display and the promise of music, freedom and relationships of youth, it’s an obvious choice for any contemporary young adult fan. We’ve seen what Jesse Andrews can do with a story and I, for one, am more than ready to see what he has in store with this one.

So there we have it! Twelve great reads to keep you comfortable this spring. What books are you most looking forward to in the coming months? 

No comments:

Post a Comment