Review: Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows by J.M. Bergen

12:00 AM


 Magic is real. Happy book birthday to Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows!



ABOUT THE BOOK

Thomas thinks he's an ordinary twelve year old, but when a strange little man with gold-flecked eyes gives him an ancient text called The Book of Sorrows, the world he knows is turned upside down. Suddenly he’s faced with a secret family legacy, powers he can hardly begin to understand, and an enemy bent on destroying everything he holds dear. The more he reads and discovers, the deeper the danger to himself and the people he loves. As the race to the final showdown unfolds, Thomas must turn to trusted friends and uncertain allies as he seeks to prevent destruction at an epic scale.
 
A BRIEF PHOTO JOURNAL
 I wanted to do something a bit more in depth for this book, but the weather simply isn't permitting it. Either it's too grey, too snowwy, or LITERALLY NEGATIVE 50 DEGREES OUT. So! Expect something better in the coming weeks. Or the spring. Depending on when Chicago isn't a total meanie. 




 

Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows by J.M. Bergen | Rating:  ★★★★☆(4.5)

As a note, a copy of this novel was sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not effect my opinions in any way.

Perfect for fans of The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding by Alexandra Bracken! Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows brings a little magic to our lives. Unique and enthralling, the story opens with what seems to be an ordinary child. Like all good middle grade stories, we're quickly proven wrong, and set off on adventure of the ages with Thomas Wildus and the following words: Magic is real.

Magic.

Is.

Real. 

If you aren't hooked based on those three simple words, I genuinely have questions for you? 
 
This is ABSOLUTELY the type of book that I'd have devoured in under a day as a kid. As an adult, it's still as brilliantly captivating, so I can honestly say that readers of all ages will enjoy J.M. Bergen's particular brand of magic and wit. It doesn't matter if you're a new reader or an older one, this book WILL hook you.

Young boy finds a mysterious bookshop and book? Echoes of his long-lost father's belief in magic at the center of his mind? A completely magical thrill ride promises to follow? Friendship? Mystery? Possible kidnapping? A LOT OF MORALLY GRAY CHARACTERS? Plot twists?  

SIGN. ME. UP.

Truly, I had this compulsive need to finish it in one sitting because it's impossible to look away. As I was reading it, I was like, "This feels like a bedtime story." so it makes sense that it did start out that way: J.M. Bergen crafted this tale as a bedtime story for his son and that is, perhaps, one of the best things about Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows. It will transport readers to the feelings we all associate with childhood.

I will say that I enjoyed the first 25% of the book, but it was also the slowest part of it. This isn't a bad thing, but I do feel like I have to put it out there that the tension and worldbuilding takes place throughout the beginning; clicking the adventurous tone into place soon after. 

Ultimately, there's something so beautifully charming about Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows. Bergen creates something purely magical and vivid with his characters, worldbuilding and plotlines.

I cannot wait to throw this book at everyone read more of the adventures of Thomas Wildus. Bergen is only just beginning.

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Translate