Equal Parts Thrilling and Chilling | Blog Tour + Reivew: The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

7:30 AM

Might be A LITTLE (see: completely) obsessed with The Hunting Party. This book was truly something, you guys. READ. IT. NOW.



The Hunting Party 
by Lucy Foley
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks; Reprint edition (March 3, 2020)

“My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best — with an extra dose of acid.” — Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

At a Glance
  • Thrilling
  • Mysterious
  • Good for fans of S.T.A.G.S. and Ready or Not
  • Intense

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley 
Rating: ★★★★★        
As always, a copy of this book was provided by the authors in exchange for my honest review. This does not effect my opinion in any way. 

Between excellent adult thrillers/mysteries, and fantastic YA fantasy, I feel like now is the best time to be a reader. We're getting so many fantastic novels (that feel almost nostalgic and yet completely fresh) and there's no sign of slowing down. It goes without saying that Lucy Foley's The Hunting Party is one of the best and most enthralling thrillers I've come across in recent memory.

And honestly I can't stop thinking about it. Eyes wide, I'm not terribly surprised over the ending. Still, its entire pulse seems to be in my fingertips and I cannot stop thinking about it.

There's something about this slow-burning novel that feels deeply unsettling. It draws you into the light, moment by moment, piece by piece, and tightens its grip ever so slowly. The Hunting Party is, by all accounts, slowly paced--yet it's in this pacing that makes the story all the more intricate and chilling.

Growing up on a hefty dose of mystery, it's easy to see why one might gravitate towards The Hunting Party. It is dishy, secretive, highly formulaic yet still ultimately compelling. Lucy Foley's prose, and its energy, calls upon an Agatha Christie style and indulges its readers from the very start. Well-written, tense, and burning intensely, The Hunter Party is the very definition of can't-put-down.

The Hunting Party is a true page-turner that unravels in every chapter. It starts at the end, nearly, and in that ending, the mystery begins to unfold. Lucy Foley's writing makes the story, and its revelations, highly engaging and every page bring something new to the forefront. In these moments, I can almost feel it burrowing itself under my skin and slowly revealing itself.

If you love secrets, lies, and a classic murder-mystery between friends: The Hunting Party is for you. Reading it was nothing short of an entertaining ride from start to finish. It is the perfect novel to curl up to at any point in the year when you want a little intrigue in your life. It is so terribly simple to get lost in Foley's writing.

Lucy Foley studied English literature at Durham University and University College London and worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry. She is the author of The Book of Lost and Found and The Invitation. She lives in London.

Follow Lucy on Twitter and Facebook.

Instagram Tour: 
 
Tuesday, March 3rd: Instagram: @the.magicalpages
Wednesday, March 4th: Instagram: @kraysbookclub
Thursday, March 5th: Instagram: @jess_reads_books
Friday, March 6th: Instagram: @girlwithnoselfie
Sunday, March 8th: Instagram: @what.jenny.reads
Monday, March 9th: Instagram: @barkingaboutbooks
Wednesday, March 11th: Instagram: @nurse_bookie

Blog Tour:

Wednesday, March 4th: Instagram: @myreadingchronicles
Thursday, March 5th: Instagram: @bookapotamus
Friday, March 6th: Really Into This
Monday, March 9th: Book by Book
Tuesday, March 10th: Reading Girl Reviews
Wednesday, March 11th: Jathan & Heather
Thursday, March 12th: Instagram: @hooked.by.books
Friday, March 13th: Booked J
Monday, March 16th: Laura’s Reviews
Tuesday, March 17th: Diary of a Stay at Home Mom
Wednesday, March 18th: Staircase Wit
Thursday, March 19th: Jessicamap Reviews
Friday, March 20th: Kahakai Kitchen
Wednesday, March 25th: PhDiva
Thursday, March 26th: Instagram: @beauty_andthebook_
Friday, March 27th: Instagram: @shelovesthepages
TBD: Tuesday, March 3rd: Stranded in Chaos


Find me on Instagram and/or Twitter.

You Might Also Like

0 comments