Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Blog Tour, Giveaway & Review: The Truth Beneath the Lies by Amanda Searcy

 

The time is here! Yesterday saw the release of one of the most explosive debuts this year in YA: The Truth Beneath the Lies. I'm so excited to share my thoughts with you guys on this COMPLETELY DELICIOUS AND UTTERLY BONKERS novel by Amanda Searcy. This is the sort of novel that will need no introduction--so, let's just cut to the chase, shall we? 

Follow the cut for all the information you need to know about the YA thriller everyone will be talking about. Under the cut you will find my review and an exclusive giveaway in celebration of its release. Are you ready?!



 

The Truth Beneath the Lies
Amanda Searcy
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: December 12th 2017
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Fight or Flight.

All Kayla Asher wants to do is run. Run from the government housing complex she calls home. Run from her unstable mother. Run from a desperate job at No Limit Foods. Run to a better, cleaner, safer life. Every day is one day closer to leaving.

All Betsy Hopewell wants to do is survive. Survive the burner phone hidden under her bed. Survive her new rules. Survive a new school with new classmates. Survive being watched. Every minute grants her another moment of life.

 But when fate brings Kayla and Betsy together, only one girl will live.



Rating: ★★★★☆

Amanda Searcy pens an explosive thriller with The Truth Beneath the Lies. Gripping, mysterious and utterly compelling, the story follows an uniquely dark plotline that keeps readers on their toes. You will never guess where it leads you, until you find yourself straight at the center--it's one of the most intriguing YA novels in recent memory and will keep you in questions for the duration. 

For fans of thrillers that keep you on the edge of your seat and lovers of an unreliable narration, The Truth Beneath the Lies is a solid release through and through. From typical coming-of-age qualities, to the tackling of various elements of life's darkness, Kayla and Betsy are unforgettable from the beginning. Their story is shocking, an unexpected twist in the gut, and left me breathless by the time we reach the climax. 

I was not expecting that twist. I was constantly questioning what the connection was between the two girls and when it hit me, I flailed a bit. How she ties Kayla and Betsy together is incredible. Simple and painful and jaw-dropping, I couldn't let go and even now, days later, I'm still thinking about their story. 

As readers, this is our first experience with Amanda Searcy's work, as this is her debut novel, but her prose is one that features the most riveting of qualities. It's pure suspense. She nails the horrible truths of life and growing up. There was this entire vibe to The Truth Beneath the Lies that kept your mind turning, turning, turning and curious. You feel uneasy. You feel suspicious. Trusting no-one, except the narration, and even that makes you hesitant. 

Searcy is definitely an author to look out for. The Truth Beneath the Lies is proof of that.

I really adored the bleakness to the novel, it leans towards dark and mysterious and never lacks in the emotional punches of life. The Truth Beneath the Lies is such an appropriate title, because the layers to Kayla and Betsy are striking. Each time you think you have something figured out, you're left with your jaw hanging open in frustration and awe. When I say that this novel is shocking, I mean it. You are always on the edge. 

Perfectly crafted and surprising in its endgame, this brilliant book is a can't-miss for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn and Abigail Haas. The Truth Beneath the Lies is a spellbinding release and the epitome of thrills. 


Week 1

December 4th

Pink Polka Dot Books- Welcome Post
Life of A Simple Reader - Review + Favourite Quotes
We Live and Breathe Books - Review + Favourite Quotes


December 5th



December 6th

Literary Meanderings - Guest Post
Books, Boys, and Blogs - Review + Dream Cast + Favourite Quotes


December 7th


December 8th

Wishful Endings - Interview


Week 2

December 11th



December 12th

A Bookish Abode - Guest Post
YA Obsessed - Review


December 13th

Booked J - Review
MetalPhantasmReads - Review + Playlist


December 14th

Kindle and Me - Review


December 15th

The Clever Reader - Interview
Hauntedbybooks13 - Review

No comments:

Post a Comment