The Secret Women is the Ultimate Beach Read (and I NEED to Dive into Sheila Williams' backlist) | The Secret Women by Sheila Williams

6:30 AM

Sheila Williams should have been on my radar sooner. But, better late than never, right? The Secret Women was everything I didn't know I wanted from the year in fiction.

The Secret Women 
by Sheila Williams

The author of Dancing on the Edge of the Roof, now a Netflix film starring Alfre Woodard, returns with a riveting, emotionally rich, novel that explores the complex relationship between mothers and daughters in a fresh, vibrant way—a stunning page-turner for fans of Terry McMillan, Tayari Jones, and Kimberla Lawson Roby.

Elise Armstrong, Carmen Bradshaw, and DeeDee Davis meet in a yoga class. Though vastly different, these women discover they all have one thing in common: their mothers have recently passed away. Becoming fast friends, the trio make a pact to help each other sort through the belongings their mothers’ left behind. But when they find old letters and diaries, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee are astonished to learn that each of their mothers hid secrets—secrets that will transform their own lives.

Meeting each month over margaritas, the trio share laughter, advice, and support. As they help each other overcome challenges and celebrate successes, Elise, Carmen, and DeeDee gain not only a better understanding of the women their mothers were, but of themselves. They also come to realize they have what their mothers needed most but did not have during difficult times—other women they could trust.

Filled with poignant life lessons, The Secret Women pays tribute to the power of friendship and family and the bonds that tie us together. Beautiful, full of spirit and heart, it is a thoughtful and ultimately uplifting story of unconditional love.

The Secret Women by Sheila Williams
Rating: ★★★☆          

As always, a copy of this book was provided by the author or publisher in exchange for my honest review. This does not effect my opinion in any way.  

Went into The Secret Women expecting a fluffy beach read, came out feeling like my heart could float out of my chest at any moment. My emotions are kind of everywhere, in the most glorious of ways. If you are looking for an emotionally charged read, this is it. Sheila Williams--it's like you knew exactly what the world needed and when they needed it. The Secret Women is that kind of a novel.

You guys know how I feel about stories of friendship. At the very core of this novel lay friendships and varied forms of connections. These characters promise to be the pulse of life, and Williams taps into it so beautifully. Not only do these characters feel like living, breathing, friends of ours: their stories, and how they entwined, Williams makes us feel as though we--too--are a part of something special.

The Secret Women is so much more than a sweet beach read, though. It has this aching quality to it that reaches out and touches the reader's heart and soul. It's just as fun as it is poignant, and really captures life in a way that leaves you feeling buzzed with love.

Of course, The Secret Women hooked me from the very moment I'd seen its synopsis. But, like all good reads, the story kept me in place solely because of two things: the author and her prose. The Secret Women succeeds because Williams weaves her heart through every action, every word, every relationship, and it's almost like pieces of all of us are reflected back in each character.

This is a definite must-read for anyone, year round. I promise you won't forget any of these magnificent women.

Find me on Instagram, Tik Tok and/or Twitter. 
I support Black Lives Matter

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Translate