Fun from the Start--A True Delight | Blog Tour: Finding Mr. Better-Than-You by Shani Petroff

7:30 AM

Who can resist such a pretty cover, with such a snarky title? Not me! It screamed total feel good novel. Finding Mr. Better-Than-You was truly THAT book. And I loved it.

Finding Mr. Better Than You

by Shani Petroff
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Release Date: January 14, 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis: 

Camryn has been dating Marc FOREVER—since freshman year! She dropped out of volleyball to go to all his games, switched her schedule around to be in his favorite class, and has been busting her butt to get into Columbia so they can go to the same college. So when Marc suddenly, and very publically, breaks up with her a week into their senior year so that he can date the new transfer student, she’s absolutely devastated.

But why be sad, when you can get even? Inspired by her favorite movies, Camryn decides that the best revenge is a Senior Year well lived, starring a boy who is ever so much better than her ex. With a little help from her friends, Cam is going to have the Best. Senior. Year. Ever.


Finding Mr. Better-Than-You by Shani Petroff
Rating: ★★★★☆
 
As always, a copy of this book was provided by the publisher or author in exchange for my honest review. This does not effect my opinion in any way.

Oh my gosh, this book was SO fun and an unexpected gem. Part of me went into this thinking it'd be a full on YA romance at its core, but the story mostly revolved around connections of another kind. Friendship. Finding Mr. Better-Than-You has this snarky title going for it, but there's this undeniable warmth to it that really and truly is drawn upon by friendships. It wasn't what I expected, but in the best possible way.

One of my big wishes on my YA wishlist was to find stories that solely relied upon a. one's own self or b. friendships and why they strengthen us, instead of romantic relationships. (This doesn't mean I don't want romance in literature; life and romance are often tied up in one another and there's nothing wrong with that.) In the case of Finding Mr. Better-Than-You, I found that the biggest highlights in the novel were the nods it makes to friendship.

I loved how it centered around moving forward and the real importance of friendships that we make through the years. Another element I loved, and appreciated about it, was the way that Shani Petroff wrote our main character, Cam, who is undeniably flawed and ultimately a wonderful teenager in every way.

What made the characteristics of Cam so important to me, personally, was the way in which Petroff understood what it means to lose yourself in a relationship--to sacrifice parts of yourself, maybe even without fully realizing it at the time--to the point where, when it ends, you have to find yourself all over again. One of her big journeys throughout Finding Mr. Better-Than-You is cloaked in her initial quest, but really feels more rooted in rediscovery and friendship. 

Ultimately, Finding Mr. Better-Than-You had me feeling as though I wouldn't stop smiling for the longest time. This was exactly what I needed. Perfect for fans of She's the Worst by Lauren Spieller, this book will leave you with a buzz of energy after finishing.


(Bonus) Playlist 

Something about this book was so fun, I could see specific scenes play out in my mind with specific songs. Or certain characters vibe well with certain songs. So, here's a bonus, and kind of completely unrelated but still somehow related playlist.


About Shani Petroff

Shani Petroff is a writer living in New York City. She's the author of the “Bedeviled” series, which includes Daddy’s Little AngelThe Good, the Bad, and the Ugly DressCareful What You Wish For, and Love Struck, and is the co-author of the "Destined" series which includes Ash and Ultraviolet. She also writes for television news programs and several other venues. When she’s not locked in her apartment typing away, she spends a whole lot of time on books, boys, TV, daydreaming, and shopping online.

 


Follow the Tour 

January 22nd


Pink Polka Dot Books- Welcome Post

January 23rd


What She Will Read- Review & Favorite Quotes

January 24th


Booked J- Review
Book Briefs- Review
Bookriot- Review & Favorite Quotes

January 25th


Ya It’s Lit- Bookstagram Mood Board

January 26th


onemused- Bookstagram & Review

January 27th


Shelf-Rated- Review

January 28th


Wanderer in Neverland- Review & Favorite Quotes
Bookishaestha- Bookstagram & Review





 Find me on Instagram and/or Twitter.

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Translate